Meet the Staff & Governors

Freshfield Nursery School Staff from Sept 2023

Mrs J MartinCo-Headteacher
Mrs K Walsh
Mrs E Richardson
Acting Co-Headteacher
Miss Nicola SimcockEarly Years Leader & Inclusion Manager
Mrs S. ClarkeHLTA
Mrs L EvansHLTA
Mrs H McDonaldHLTA Outdoor Learning Lead
Mrs L WilliamsHLTA
Mrs L WildHLTA/2 Year old's lead practitioner
Mrs E BurkeTeaching Assistant
Miss J ToombsTeaching Assistant
Mrs A PikeTeaching Assistant
Miss M AllottTeaching assistant
Mrs D CottonTeaching assistant
Miss R SouthcombeTeaching assistant
Mrs K EvansTeaching Assistant
Ms Karina Trujillo SanchezTeaching Assistant
Mrs N HarneyClerical Assistant/Receptionist
Mr C AshtonSite Manager
Mr A LawtonHygiene Manager
Mrs J. LongleySchool Business Manager

Freshfield Nursery School Governors

ChairJill Jones
Vice Chair
Co-HeadteachersJennifer Martin
Kathryn Walsh
Elizabeth Richardson
LA GovernorSusan Guy
Associate GovernorSimon Fuller
Co-opted GovernorsJill Jones, Jeanette Longley, Jennifer Leah, Rebecca Till, Sal Bernal
Staff Governorvacancy
Parent GovernorsBen Scott, Sophie Hewitt, Claire Marsden

The members of the Governing Board meet three times each year:

Full Governing Board Meeting Dates Academic Year 2022 – 2023

Autumn: 23rd November 2023 5.30 pm 

Spring: 23rd March 2023

Summer: 20th June 2023

Governors’ Declaration of Business Interests

Governors have made no declarations of also being a governor in another school.

Click to download – Declarations-FreshfieldNursery-Feb-23 (1)

Click to download – Declarations-FreshfieldNursery Nov 21

Click to download – Dec of Interest Freshfield Nov 2020

Click to download – Declarations Governors – Freshfield Nursery Nov 2019

Click to download – Declarations Governors – Freshfield Nursery Nov 2018

Chair Of Governors: Jill Jones

Vice Chair of Governors: vacancy

Click to download – Governing Board Membership July 2023

There are sub committees covering areas for which the Governors have responsibility:

Chair: Jennifer Leah
Monitors the school budget
Monitors the state of the building
Risk Assessment
Health and Safety
School Asset Management Plan
School Development Plan

Resources Committee Members: Jennifer Leah (chair of committee), Jill Jones, Sal Bernal, Jeanette Longley, Jenny Martin

Click to download – Resources, finance Committee LA template 2022

Teaching and Learning Committee

Chair: Sue Guy
Monitors Curriculum
Monitors Reporting to Parents
Performance Review
School Development Plan

Teaching & Learning Committee members:  Sue Guy, Rebecca Till, Kathryn Walsh/Liz Richardson, Jeanette Longley

Click to download – Teaching and learning, curriculum LA template remit 2022

Pay Committee

Jill Jones
Jenny Leah
Rebecca Till

Pay Appeals
Sal Bernal

Click to download – Pay&Pay Appeal Committee remit 22-23

Headteachers’ Performance Management Committee

Jill Jones
Jenny Leah

Click to download – Performance Manage Grp remit 22-23

Safeguarding Governor – Susan Guy

LAC Governor – Jennifer Martin

Inclusion Governor and Diversity Governor – Kathryn Walsh

Development Governor – Jeanette Longley

Health and Safety Governor – Sal Bernal

Wellbeing Governor – Jeanette Longley

Terms of Office

Parent Governors
Ben Scott 02.02.23 to 01.02.25
Sophie Hewitt 06.07.23 to 05.07.25
Claire Marsden 06.07.23 to 05.07.23

Staff Governors
vacancy pending election

Co-Headteachers Governors
Jennifer Martin 01.09.17 UFN
Kathryn Walsh 01.04.21 UFN
Elizabeth Richardson 05.05.23 UFN

Authority Governor
Susan Guy 15.06.22 to 14.06.26

Co-Opted Governors
Jeanette Longley 25.02.23 to 24.02.27
Jill Jones 25.02.23 to 24.02.27
Jennifer Leah 06.11.21 to 05.11.25
Rebecca Till 30.10.19 to 29.10.23
Maria Bernal Yague 20.06.23 to 19.06.27

Associate Governor
Simon Fuller 25.11.20 to 25.11.24 (no voting rights)


Robin Goddard LA Governor 01.09.15 to 26.05.17
Les Jones previous co-opted Governor approx. 1980 to 31.08.16
Linda Shaw Headteacher to 31.08.17

Marika Hargreaves Associate governor to 31.08.17
Emma Nolan co-opted governor 20.10.15 to 22.03.18
Michael Lomax parent governor 11.11.16 to 03.10.18
Gareth Chidgey parent governor 29.03.18 to 10.10.19
Emily Irlam 08.01.16 to 07.01.20
Lisa Williams 17.03.17 to 16.03.21
Aoife Murphy 27.01.21 to 26.01.23
Maria Laila-Valenti 01.03.22 to 08.02.23
Danielle Vessey 06.11.21 to 31.03.23
Anna Wicking 30.06.21 to 20.06.23
Stephanie Farndell 08.01.20 to 31.08.23

Governors Remits and Responsibilities

Click to download – Governors Remits and Responsibilities September 2022

Governors’ Meetings – Attendance Tables

Freshfield Nursery meeting attendance record 22-23

Meeting attendance Freshfield Nursery Sept 22


Click to download – Meeting attendance Freshfield Nursery Nov 2020

Click to download – Governors’ meetings attendance 2019 – 2020

Click to download – Meetings Attendance – Freshfield Nursery Feb 19

Click to download – Meeting Attendance 2018-2019 Freshfield Nursery

Click to download – Governors meetings attendance list 2017 – 2018

Click to download – Attendance Summer 2017

Click to download – Copy of attendance checklist 2016




Comments Box SVG iconsUsed for the like, share, comment, and reaction icons
We have two places still available on a first come first served basis within our 2’s provision for the end of the week. Wednesday pm, Thursday and Friday to apply please contact the school office on 0161 442 6944 or email 📚✏️💫

We have two places still available on a first come first served basis within our 2’s provision for the end of the week. Wednesday pm, Thursday and Friday to apply please contact the school office on 0161 442 6944 or email 📚✏️💫 ... See MoreSee Less

4 days ago